Anselme Payen Award to Lars Wågberg

Lars Wågberg, Professor at KTH, receives the prestigious Anselme Payen Award 2024, awarded by the American Chemical Society's Cellulose and Renewable Materials (CELL) Division.
Photo: Celluxtreme AB
Photo: Celluxtreme AB

The announcement was made during the ACS Spring Meeting in New Orleans.

“It is of course an honour and I am especially pleased with my research group, which often exceeds the high expectations I have of them. You do very little alone!” says Lars Wågberg to

The Anselme Payen Award is since 1962 awarded by the American Chemical Society’s Cellulose and Renewable Materials (CELL) Division to honour and encourage outstanding professional contributions to the science and chemical technology of cellulose and its allied products.

At the meeting, the symposium in honor of the 2023 winner Prof. Lars Berglund was arranged. This is the second time in the award’s history that the awardees for the two following years are from the same university, but most likely the first time they share the same first name,  research center (and the same high school!).

Read the motivation here.

Read the interview with Lars Wågberg here.